Skip to content
20/01/2012 / opticalintentions

University Project: D&AD concept

As part of my university studies I had to create a design concept for one of the current D&AD student awards briefs. I chose a brief from Ministry of Sound to produce three A2 outdoor posters to advertise three months of their headline club night- ‘Saturday Sessions’.

Ministry of Sound is one of Londons iconic clubs and dance music brands. The nightclub prides itself on being designed around a top of the range sound system and regularly hosts many of the biggest dance acts.

I chose use a 3D Op Art aesthetic for my concept. A great night out is remembered as a blur of colour and sound and Op Art seemed to suit this well. An added bonus was that the 3D effect helped to make the poster literally stand out.

The work displayed above is an example of a ‘complete’ poster and two backgrounds for the other two months. As a concept, the design is not yet fully resolved, but I feel I have made a strong start.

I kept a blog alongside this project, following the process throughout. You can view this here.

Leave a Reply

